A Special Boy

slice of life

It was July 2013 when I went through a major 10 hour surgery after years and years of suffering. It was a very dark time in my life. Recovery wouldn’t be easy, but I had to get back to work in August 2013.

A time when I could forget everything and enjoy what I loved doing (my passion) was when I was teaching. Was it easy? Not at all, but September 2013 was a fateful time in my life. I was so very blessed to have the sweetest, happiest, most loving, strongest, bravest, kind-hearted boy I had ever met in my Kindergarten class.

Cayden was born with Cystic Fibrosis (CF) and also was diagnosed with Diabetes 1. His parents sent me a video of what it is like for Cayden on a daily basis living with CF. My eyes filled with tears. I will never forget all the medications that were lined up on the kitchen counter. He takes 28-30 pills every day  along with a vest treatment twice a day. He quickly became my hero and inspiration. I was amazed despite what Cayden endures everyday, he does not let it stop him from enjoying life and being the absolute most amazing boy. I thought if this 5 year old boy can still smile and enjoy life then so can I and I need to keep going. I went through another surgery in October 2013 and all I thought about was Cayden. I told myself over and over, “I can do this.”

And I did.

It was a blessing to have him in my Kindergarten class. My husband and I went to a fundraiser that April for Cayden and CF as well as walked in The Great Strides walk in May. I knew I wanted to be in his life forever. Cayden is such a special boy who is an inspiration to everyone.

Turned out that Cayden’s dad and Matt (my husband) started working together. Cindy (Cayden’s mom) and I started to become friends. Now we are all family. Cayden will forever hold a special place in my heart.

Isn’t it amazing how some things work out?

 

Standard

10 thoughts on “A Special Boy

  1. How great that you were able to stay a part of his life. One thing that sometimes makes me sad about the year I taught pre-K is that none of those students probably remember me, and I remember all of them. It seems like a silly thing to be sad about. I ran into one of my students only a year or so after I had started teaching middle school, and she didn’t remember me. Cayden sounds really special.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosecappelli says:

    I think Cayden was put in your life for a reason. We all need inspiration when going through a tough time, and to find it from a special student is just a blessing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is wonderful that Cayden could prove to be inspiration to you. I hope he knows . I also think that it was great for his parents to create a video to help others understand cayden’s struggles.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such an inspirational post about an inspirational little boy. I loved how your slice tracked the development between the relationship of teacher to student and parents to one big family…simply lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

