Encouragement

slice of life

I am a little self-conscious of running since I’m just starting out. I was telling my friend, who is a runner, about my insecurities now that the days are getting warmer, it is light longer, and  more people are outside. Questions are stirring in my head: What are they thinking? Do I look like a complete idiot? She told me that runners cheer for other runners. They are happy to see you out and running. As for the others I was doing more than they were. Well…

It was a particularly rough day of running. I passed by a man in his driveway and he looked at me and I looked at him as I’m huffing and puffing. He gave me a thumbs up, a smile, and a nod that said way to go! I have seen him run around the neighborhood. I know he is not a beginner like me.

My friend was right. Runners do cheer on other runners. I was panting and tired and sore, but I kept going. He has no idea that he helped me finish my run. His encouragement was just what I needed yesterday!!!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Encouragement

  1. lynnedorfman says:

    I so admire you, Shelly. I love Gail’s words to you – that runners cheer for other runners. And so do writers! Brava, Shelly! Your slices are wonderful, and you are more than halfway there! Thanks for your stories, poems, and inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keep running! This is a great slice. It makes me feel optimistic. I’m not sure if all writers encourage other writers…like runners encourage runners; but I know that on Two Writing Teachers, I always feel encouraged. Keep running and writing! You’re doing great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

