List Poems

slice of life

Poetry is in full force in our kindergarten classroom. We have been reading poetry, responding to poetry, and writing poetry. Poetry is great for all ability levels. Even the struggling writers gain confidence when writing poems.It is amazing to watch all writers bloom and love the world of poetry!

We discussed “Signs” from A Chill in the Air by John Frank. Students responded to it first in their writer’s notebook. The first example is from my writer’s notebook. My favorite time of day is to write in my writer’s notebook with my K writers!

IMG_7050

 

IMG_7052

Fall is fun to make piles of leaves to jump on.

 

IMG_7051

The fall  is here. Yay. Now we can play in the leaves.

Then, we revisited “Signs” during writing workshop. Thanks to Lynne Dorfman and Rose Cappelli’s book, Poetry Mentor Texts: Making Reading and Writing Connections , K-8, I did this Your Turn Lesson with my K writers. We discussed the format of John Frank’s poem (noun, verb). Then, we brainstormed topics and choose “Spring”. We made a list of nouns and verbs relating to spring and used it to create a list poem like John Frank together.

Spring

By: K-4

Puddles splashing,

Roses blooming,

Rain dropping,

Rainbows forming,

Trees growing,

Butterflies flying,

Bunnies hopping,

Bumblebees buzzing,

I love spring!

I shared my own list poem, of course, with my students before they got to work on their own. Students wrote their own poems in their writer’s notebook and I typed them.

Here is my list poem that I wrote in my writer’s notebook:

Nature list poem

Here are some of the finished poems:

baseball list poem1

flower list poem

baseball list poem

fall list poem

 

Standard

5 thoughts on “List Poems

  1. I always look forward to seeing what you are doing with your kindergarteners, Shelly. I’m glad you did these pieces again this year. They are always great! So glad you heard me when I suggested you start earlier this year. Your class has made remarkable progress because of it. I look forward to what they are able to do by the time they reach me in 2 years. See you tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such wonderful writing! Your students see you as a writer. They respect you because you “walk your talk.” I love peeking at your writer’s notebook. Thanks for the nod to Poetry Mentor Texts, Shelly. You are such a good friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

