Dragonflies and a Thoughtful Friend

image

My best friend knows how much dragonflies mean to me and what they symbolize for me. She was so sweet in creating a poem for me and I put it in my Writer’s Notebook right away. I also have my students put in artifacts in their Writer’s Notebook. On day, along with my students, I decided to write and draw about dragonflies to go along with the poem I received from my best friend.

IMG_1774

Recently, she draw and wrote this for me. I had to frame it and put it with my cousin.

IMG_1791

 

It means so much to me to have such an amazing and thoughtful best friend. I’m so lucky to have her in my life.

I have a little area in my living room to always remember my cousin who was taken way too soon when he was 18, which was almost 12 years ago. A day doesn’t go by when I don’t think of him and miss him.

IMG_1794

IMG_1647

Standard

3 thoughts on “Dragonflies and a Thoughtful Friend

  1. I, too, love dragonflies and often collect jewelry and pictures of them. I love poems about them, too, as well as watching these most delicate creatures. You have a really great friend. The tribute to your cousin is touching, Shelly. The fact that you remember him each day keeps him close. It is important to remember, to say the names of loved ones we have lost. That way, they are, in some small way, present.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

