A Win for Read Aloud

Today, a nonfiction book was chosen on our Bingo board (discussed in yesterday’s post). I wanted to choose a fun nonfiction book. Who would I turn to? Who always helps me with everything I need when it comes to amazing books? Our librarian who I’m so lucky to call my friend, Abby Klein, of course!

“Abby, I need a great nonfiction book for read aloud today. What ideas do you have?” I asked excitedly.

“For the Bingo board?” Abby wondered.

“Yes!” I replied.

Of course, she goes right to her “new book” shelves in her office. Oooooh, a brand new book to the library (I get very excited about new books)! Abby goes through some options. Then, she says “How about this one?”

I look at the title. Do not lick this book. Hmmm. Definitely an interesting title. A book about microbes though? Will that keep the interest of Kindergarteners? I know better than to doubt Abby. I begin to page through it and it looks cute. Definitely some humor. Dialogue. Characters are microbes. Germs are always a great topic to remind students about good hygiene.

“I’ll give it a try!”

“Let me know how it goes and what students think of it!” Abby stated as I left.

Time for the moment of truth.

Kindergarteners gather on the carpet after lunch for read aloud.

“Guess what?” I asked.

“What????” exclaimed twenty-two enthusiastic kindergarteners .

“Mrs. Klein shared this book with me. It is brand new to the library. You are the first ones to hear it!” I said.

“Wow!” “Cool!” shouted excited kindergarteners. Along with facial expressions of awe, pride, and pure joy.

I shared the title and authors of the book. Had their attention with a title like Do not lick this book! I told them it was about microbes…germs. Really? What? Were some responses I received from some confused students. Why pick book about microbes?

Time to start.

All you heard was laughter and excitement. All you saw were engaged kindergarteners. Connections were being made with the coronavirus, hand washing, and sneezing into your elbow (to name a few). The microbes go on various adventures throughout the book. Students even joined in with the characters and did what was asked of them in the book (I will let that be a surprise!). Such a great nonfiction book! I was skeptical at first, however, a definite winner. This book is a must read! You never know when a great find will surface! Thank you, Abby! I can always count on you! 📚❤️

#SOL20 is my fifth year participating! I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to connect with incredible writers! This community brings me so much joy and inspiration! Thank you TWT for this amazing community of writers!

Standard

5 thoughts on “A Win for Read Aloud

  1. I love how you gave total credit to your school librarian. Everyone needs that go-to person who recommends winners. Telling your students it was a new book was brilliant! It is like telling them it’s magic.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness, I’m so glad I read your slice today! This book just arrived in our classroom and we haven’t yet had the pleasure of reading it. You’ve inspired me to pull it right out tomorrow and share it with my first and second graders! I hope they’ll be as excited to have that “first read” as your kiddos were.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment