Rewarding Moment

slice of life

For Dr. Seuss week, my students wrote about the places they want to go as a supplement to the book, Oh, the Places You’ll Go. Here is what one of my Kindergarteners wrote…

Oh the places you'll go

I found myself smiling from ear to ear. My heart was filled with so much warmth. “How sweet,” I thought! I gave her a big hug. She made my day. Then…

I happen to receive an email from her mom. When I replied to her email I also shared what Anna wrote that day:

“Today we watched Oh, the Places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss and Anna wrote that she wants to be a teacher like Mrs. Keller! How sweet! She made me smile!”

Here is her reply back:

“I believe it, she plays pretend a lot at home and she often pretends to be you!”

Wow! Even outside of school Anna is thinking about me. I felt so honored! This is a moment I will always remember!

Standard

8 thoughts on “Rewarding Moment

  1. My daughter plays school quite a bit at home — pretending to be her teacher. I think it’s the most adorable thing to hear her say things I know she hears her teacher say at school. Imitation is flattery, you know!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lynnedorfman says:

    Shelly, it is always an honor when students want to be like you. It thrills the heart and warms the soul. This is a great story to share with other educators. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment