Green

slice of life

What is Green?

The tall trees swaying in the breeze

Money ready to be spent

Frogs croaking on their lily pads

Grass tickling your toes

A turtle s-l-o-w-l-y walking to the pond

A lucky shamrock granting someone’s wish

An alligator waiting patiently for his next meal

A caterpillar chewing on a crunchy leaf

Juicy watermelons in a pile waiting to be sold

A tricky leprechaun hiding gold on the other side of the rainbow

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!
st patrick's day

 

Standard

7 thoughts on “Green

  1. Alice Nine says:

    Cute poem. Reminds me of “Hailstones and Halibut Bones: Adventures in Poetry and Color” by Mary O’Neill. I’ve used O’Neill’s book as mentor text to write color poems. One March, a class of second graders gave me a spiral bound collection of their Green Poems, written as a result of PD/modeling I did at their school.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved the imagery you used in this… I felt like I could see and hear every character you introduced! In my 6th grade world today, green saved you from being pinched…until the principal made an announcement to keep your hands to yourself! Aww…green… 😉

    Like

Leave a comment